ConwayLife.com - A community for Conway's Game of Life and related cellular automata
Home  •  LifeWiki  •  Forums  •  Download Golly

French student trying to work on GoL

For general discussion about Conway's Game of Life.

French student trying to work on GoL

Postby Minos » June 19th, 2013, 2:18 pm

Hello,
As the titles shows, I'm a French student (so please excuse my poor grammar), age 18. I have to work on a project for next year, on a subject of my choice linked to physics or maths. After some researches, i've found that Game of Life seems pretty interesting to chose as a subject. The problem is this work needs a "personnal contribution", so I thought of programming some scripts related to Game of Life, but my knwoledge in programming is very low (I only know some Java), and I don't know if I would manage to fulfill my goals.
So let's come to the point : could you tell me hwo complicated the algorithms to search patterns (that's the point I'm the most interested in) are, and if you think it is possible for a programming novice ta manage to write one simple, basic one ? And what is the most suitable language ?
I would also appreciate some links explaining those algorithms, or the theories behind them, if such exist.

Thank you
Minos

Re: French student trying to work on GoL

Postby dvgrn » June 20th, 2013, 6:58 am

Minos wrote:... could you tell me [how] complicated the algorithms to search patterns (that's the point I'm the most interested in) are, and if you think it is possible for a programming novice to manage to write one simple, basic one ? And what is the most suitable language ?

If you're interested in "simple and basic", and you're working with Golly, then the language of choice is probably Python. Some programmers prefer Perl, but from my experience there's a steeper learning curve there for a beginner. A Python script won't win any prizes for speed, but depending on what you're looking for that may not be a problem.