Overlay and Animations

For scripts to aid with computation or simulation in cellular automata.
egg4

Overlay and Animations

Post by egg4 » July 11th, 2017, 10:21 pm

Hello!

I have two questions, I am new to both scripting and Golly so bear with me...

I am currently running Golly 3.0b1 on Windows 10 with Python 2.7 (all 64 bit) (if any of this is relevant)

I have been looking for a way to extract high-quality images from Golly so that I can put them together into an animation (i know there is LifeViewer for this, however I do not think the 'style' of the LifeViewer animations is exactly what I want, I want something that literally looks like Golly I suppose). Anyway, I downloaded the beta version of Golly 3.0 and I like the image that the Save Overlay function outputs, however, I was able to use this when selecting "save overlay" from the layer menu, and now for some reason when I go there "save overlay" is gray and will not let me select it?? does anyone know why this might be?? (as I've said before, I'm a total n00b lol)

Secondly, I am wondering if it is possible to write a script that automates the Save Overlay function so that it saves a PNG image upon each generation (so that I can us all of these images as frames of an animation). I'm not necessarily asking someone to write a script for me, I was just wondering if I could do it/how I could go about doing it (also if such a script is already in existence, I would not mind being directed to it).

thanks guys! :D

dvgrn

Re: Overlay and Animations

Post by dvgrn » July 12th, 2017, 7:49 am

egg4 wrote:I downloaded the beta version of Golly 3.0 and I like the image that the Save Overlay function outputs, however, I was able to use this when selecting "save overlay" from the layer menu, and now for some reason when I go there "save overlay" is gray and will not let me select it?? does anyone know why this might be??