Lifelib not cloning

Has something gone haywire? Let us know about it!
Post Reply
User avatar
cgoler2
Posts: 100
Joined: March 10th, 2021, 2:32 pm

Lifelib not cloning

Post by cgoler2 » March 25th, 2021, 1:34 pm

When I follow the steps at https://www.conwaylife.com/wiki/Tutoria ... _Catagolue, it works until the final command:

Code: Select all

echo Clean done
Clean done
Downloading lifelib...
Submodule 'lifelib' (https://gitlab.com/apgoucher/lifelib.git) registered for path 'lifelib'
Cloning into '/home/Martin/apgmera/lifelib'...
git: 'remote-https' is not a git command. See 'git --help'.
fatal: clone of 'https://gitlab.com/apgoucher/lifelib.git' into submodule path '/home/Martin/apgmera/lifelib' failed
Failed to clone 'lifelib'. Retry scheduled
Cloning into '/home/Martin/apgmera/lifelib'...
git: 'remote-https' is not a git command. See 'git --help'.
fatal: clone of 'https://gitlab.com/apgoucher/lifelib.git' into submodule path '/home/Martin/apgmera/lifelib' failed
Failed to clone 'lifelib' a second time, aborting

Dylan Chen
Posts: 96
Joined: March 27th, 2020, 8:07 am
Contact:

Re: Lifelib not cloning

Post by Dylan Chen » March 25th, 2021, 8:51 pm

sorry for the inconvenience, the tutorial on lifewiki is relatively obsolete (even in the time I join the community)

(Edit: would you like to decribe the problem more specificly?
which OS it is? which command cause that?)
(Edit2: join the official Discord, it's easier to get response intantly, and you can post pictures freely)


1. WSL is much easy to use than cgwin.

2. cloud has been an option which is greener and more powerful than home-based PC.

3. the search of our forum is accurate and elaborate for any archive posts.

feel free to check apgluxe5.0 threads.
Linux commands apgluxe5.0 threads
Tools should not be the limit.
Whether your obstacle is a script, an stdin, or Linux environment computing resouces.
check New rules thread for help.

User avatar
bubblegum
Posts: 886
Joined: August 25th, 2019, 11:59 pm
Location: click here to do nothing

Re: Lifelib not cloning

Post by bubblegum » March 25th, 2021, 9:47 pm

cgoler2 wrote:
March 25th, 2021, 1:34 pm
When I follow the steps at https://www.conwaylife.com/wiki/Tutoria ... _Catagolue, it works until the final command:
Dylan has given advice, but none on how to actually solve the problem. I have no idea what is included in Cygwin and what isn't, but this usually points to an incompatibility with libcurl. I really have no idea how to fix anything on Cygwin, though. Try checking this: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/309 ... tps-broken
Each day is a hidden opportunity, a frozen waterfall that's waiting to be realised, and one that I'll probably be ignoring
sonata wrote:
July 2nd, 2020, 8:33 pm
conwaylife signatures are amazing[citation needed]
anything

User avatar
cgoler2
Posts: 100
Joined: March 10th, 2021, 2:32 pm

Re: Lifelib not cloning

Post by cgoler2 » April 7th, 2021, 6:29 pm

Even when I download WSL, it still has an error.

Code: Select all

Cloning into 'apgmera'...
fatal: unable to access 'https://gitlab.com/apgoucher/apgmera.git/': Failed to connect to gitlab.com port 443: Connection timed out

User avatar
bubblegum
Posts: 886
Joined: August 25th, 2019, 11:59 pm
Location: click here to do nothing

Re: Lifelib not cloning

Post by bubblegum » April 7th, 2021, 8:09 pm

cgoler2 wrote:
April 7th, 2021, 6:29 pm
Even when I download WSL, it still has an error.
That looks like a connection error. Check your internet?
Each day is a hidden opportunity, a frozen waterfall that's waiting to be realised, and one that I'll probably be ignoring
sonata wrote:
July 2nd, 2020, 8:33 pm
conwaylife signatures are amazing[citation needed]
anything

User avatar
cgoler2
Posts: 100
Joined: March 10th, 2021, 2:32 pm

Re: Lifelib not cloning

Post by cgoler2 » April 7th, 2021, 8:33 pm

No. My internet is good.
Edit:

Code: Select all

Cloning into 'apgmera'...
fatal: unable to access 'https://gitlab.com/apgoucher/apgmera.git/': Could not resolve host: gitlab.com

Post Reply