Is there any form that survives randomness? Detect and react

For general discussion about Conway's Game of Life.
Ben.F.Rayfield

Is there any form that survives randomness? Detect and react

Post by Ben.F.Rayfield » February 21st, 2014, 3:05 am

I am an artificial intelligence programmer (among other things) trying to build a shared space on the Internet where we would use intelligent tools to build more intelligent tools and visual interactive representations of thoughts, so we can see how our ideas fit together as a big puzzle in a high dimensional space. After searching for the basics of math and how intelligence works for years, I've found that those basics are inside Rule 110 (Turing Complete), Conways Game Of Life (Turing Complete, easy replicators, Hashlife), Rule 90 (for generating bell curves), and various statistical AI math that acts on bits, and this can all be represented in a grid of pixels being on or off. I want to create a space where we do something real on a large scale instead of Conway being just a game.

Are there forms which hold their shape while moving at any angle, and can change their angle if pushed by other objects, instead of the constant glider directions an brittle nature of most conway forms? Think soliton waves, bell curves, and that the fourier of a bell curve is another bell curve, which should happen naturally in conway because the sum of C^2 coins each as -1 or 1 is a bell curve of standard deviation C, and bell curves form circles, circles form waves, and here we are with the standard model of physics being some kind of automata. Its all computers in some form or another, some self reference and recursion. But back to the point... What conway forms can change their angle continuously like we do?

Are there forms which react the same way when their expected input, like a stream of gliders, arrives too early or late or in a modified form?