Can I skip Conway's Game of Life in ATBS?

For general discussion about Conway's Game of Life.
David40

Can I skip Conway's Game of Life in ATBS?

Post by David40 » March 2nd, 2021, 12:14 am

I just started learning python with the famous book ATBS and after coming across Conway's Game of Life, I realized, "damn, I do not care about this project lol".. Pretty much I'm too lazy to try to understand it with my one braincell, I'd rather focus on something else. Will I miss anything important? Should I just push myself to do it? :|

EDITed by calcyman to remove spam links
Last edited by David40 on March 20th, 2021, 1:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

MathAndCode

Re: Can I skip Conway's Game of Life in ATBS?

Post by MathAndCode » March 2nd, 2021, 12:57 am

How much something like this matters is subjective, but most of the people on this forum care about Conway's Game of Life a lot because that's what this forum is for, so they wouldn't be on it otherwise. I'm sure that the members of this forum will be willing to explain to you various features of Conway's Game of Life (I certainly am.), but for the purposes of understanding what the program is supposed to do, all you need to know is that it occurs on an infinite square array of pixels (called cells), a cell that is off turns on for the next frame if and only if exactly three of its eight neighbors are on, and a cell that is on turns off for the next generation if less than two of its eight neighbors are on or more than three of its eight neighbors are on.
I am tentatively considering myself back.

Dylan Chen

Post by Dylan Chen » March 2nd, 2021, 1:46 am

is python your first programming language ?

have you seen the OCTA meta-pixel ?

if any answer is 'no', perhaps it is not neccessary to force yourself do things you don't like. spent time on the project you really interested in, that is the good way learning programming.

if you'd like to check some Game of Life demostration video, perhaps you'll start to like it.