Kind of new to this. Wondering if Conway's game of Life can really be used for real life simulations

For general discussion about Conway's Game of Life.
Con man

Kind of new to this. Wondering if Conway's game of Life can really be used for real life simulations

Post by Con man » April 27th, 2023, 12:18 pm

Hello.
I am kind of new to this, but Conway's game of Life looks cool.

I am wondering if it can be used to simulate real life things.

For instance maybe it can be used for weather, windflow. Or maybe it could be used for some sort of AI... Any thoughts..

Nickolas

Re: Kind of new to this. Wondering if Conway's game of Life can really be used for real life simulations

Post by Nickolas » April 27th, 2023, 7:24 pm

CGOL is a general purpose computation platform, so in that sense it can be used to simulate anything, but it's phenomenally ill-suited to modeling things in the real world. In other words, the answer to your question, practically speaking, is no.

Generally speaking, real-world modeling is done by observing a system and then describing relationships between components of that system, usually in the form of differential equations. After testing and refinement, you may end up with a set of relationships that seems to adequately model the behavior of your system, at which point you may be able to make reasonable predictions about the future evolution of similar systems.

dvgrn

Re: Kind of new to this. Wondering if Conway's game of Life can really be used for real life simulations

Post by dvgrn » April 27th, 2023, 10:08 pm

Nickolas wrote:
April 27th, 2023, 7:24 pm
CGOL is a general purpose computation platform, so in that sense it can be used to simulate anything, but it's phenomenally ill-suited to modeling things in the real world. In other words, the answer to your question, practically speaking, is no.